DEERFIELD, IL — Election Day is almost here. Early voting in the April 6 Consolidated Election got underway on Monday.

Through April 3, residents can early vote at 16 sites in Lake County. In Deerfield, early voting is taking place at Deerspring Pool, 200 Deerfield Road, Deerfield. Voting hours are 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-2 p.m. Saturday, and closed Sunday. Find a complete list of sites and other election information here.

Ballot drop boxes are also back for Lake County voters at each of the early voting sites. The Lake County Clerk’s Office announced last week that it will be following the protocol that was introduced in the 2020 General Election. Voters may walk into the election site with a mask and place their vote by mail ballot at any of the 16 drop boxes. Postage is free.

External drop boxes are currently not being offered for this election until new state legislation provides this option, according to Lake County Clerk Robin M. O’Connor.

State laws require early voters to provide a valid photo ID to an election official before receiving a ballot to vote early. Valid forms of ID include a current driver’s license, a driver’s license of state ID, university/college ID or another government-issued ID with a photo, such as a passport.


Ahead of the April 6 consolidated municipal elections, Deerfield Patch provided questionnaires to all candidates on the ballot.

Four candidates are vying for three four-year trustee seats on the Deerfield Village Board on Election Day. They include two incumbents (Robert Benton and Mary Oppenheim) and two challengers (Christopher M. Goodsnyder and Rebekah Metts-Childers).

Current trustees Barbara Struthers and Dan Shapiro are not running for reelection. Shapiro is running unopposed for mayor with Harriet Rosenthal not seeking a fourth term.

The caucus-endorsed candidates are: Shapiro, Benton, Metts-Childers and Oppenheim.


Six candidates are vying for three seats on the Deerfield Park District Board of Commissioners on Election Day. They include three incumbents Rick Patinkin (current president), Gil Antokal and Gregory Lapin. The challengers are Michael Brown, Joel Seeskin and Debbie Serota.


Eight candidates are vying for four seats on the Deerfield School District 109 Board of Education on Election Day. They include two incumbents (Andrew Morrison and Sari Montgomery) and six challengers (Dana Blumberg, James D’Angelo, Valarie Hays, Kelly Jakymiw, Jonathan Silver and Maureen G. Wener). Current trustees Kate Bittner and Scott Kluge are not running for reelection.


Independents Seth J. Schriftman and Emily K. Wallace are running unopposed for six-year seats on the Deerfield Public Library Board. Schriftman is an incumbent and the current treasurer. Trustee Maureen Werner, who currently serves as secretary of the board, did not seek reelection. Instead, Werner is running for the Deerfield School District 109 Board of Education.

If you are a candidate running for office, a resident looking to endorse a candidate or just want to weigh in on the election, please do so here.

The rules of replying:

  • Be respectful. This is a space for friendly local discussions. No racist, discriminatory, vulgar or threatening language will be tolerated.
  • Be transparent. Use your real name, and back up your claims.
  • Keep it local and relevant. Make sure your replies stay on topic.
  • Review the Patch Community Guidelines.